Thursday, July 19, 2007

Rollercoaster day

First I was kind of up because Brett and I had connected yesterday and this morning. We had coffee together yestermorn, talked about his pseudo-girlfriend, and just had some good mother-son time. Then last night when I got home, I took him to Wal-Mart with me. I bought him a couple pair of sandals, we joked around and talked and just had some good bonding time. This morning we got going a little earlier than usual, got gas before I dropped him off. I told him he could get some money from my pants pocket after school to go swimming. Then I headed to the office to get the agency car and hit the road for Cedar Rapids.

The drive to CR wasn't too bad, other than the whole "a cop every five miles" thing. I got to the courthouse about 15 minutes late, and there was a pre-hearing discussion going on about that fucking cunt of a foster mother's request to continue to have visits with the baby. In the end, though, justice won... the judge told her she would have to file a separate motion, and custody was returned to my client. This is the first time I've had that happen. That was another upper.

Then talking to the DHS supervisor about the whole issue of the abuser living with his parents... fuck. I'm so pissed off about this situation it's not even funny.

Lunch with my client and Sue. Sue is on some kind of medication that's making her seriously spacy, and it showed in her interpreting in court... she was making some pretty amateur mistakes. We had a good lunch (sue ended up paying before she had to fly) and then my client and I sat and talked.

I fucking HATE how judgmental my clients are of each other... in particular these two who have the same abuser. Why the FUCK can't they put themselves in the other's shoes?! Both of them did some pretty stupid-ass shit when they were with him. In fact, both of them pretty much did the same stupid-ass shit, but both of them constantly run the other down... I'm tired of it, and I called her on it today. No dice. She says, "I know... but..." UGH.

Driving back to Ames, I was talking to Paul and then he just... disappeared. Didn't say he was going to go shower or nap or whatever he was doing, he just disappeared. Then I started to fall asleep while I was driving, and I messaged him hoping he would talk to me and help me stay awake... nope. Not a goddamn thing, until close to 3 when I told him to have a safe drive to band and I guessed I would see him tomorrow. Then it was "love you too, bye for now." No mention of where he'd been, or asking if I was ok (the last thing I said to him before that was that I was falling asleep).

It REALLY upsets me when he just wanders away... it probably shouldn't, because I often have to go AFK when I'm at work... but I at least make an attempt to tell him, and I'm at work. He's at home. He just disappears for hours on end. Frankly, it reminds me of Bruce's tendency to do the same thing, and it upsets me just as much.

No, I haven't told him this... will I? I don't know.

Luckily, Bob logged in and talked to me for a bit, keeping me awake for a while. If anything, that made me more cranky, because I always feel a bit... I don't know, crunchy... when I talk to him. I'm always remembering that night when he was drunk and messaged me with horrible, nasty things. I don't know.

I finally got back to Ames, and tried to get caught up... fuck. Tami had to have me check her board report and help her re-write part of it. She didn't even fucking ask me if I was busy or had time to do it, just told me to come in her office... and then she told me to look it over, please.

I did
I re-wrote two parts
I fucking hate myself for that.

I was trying to fix Marvel's computer, and realized she needs a new adapter. I went to find Shelly to tell her... I said, "I have a problem." She kept chatting with Shar and Jessie about FACEBOOK FOR FUCKS SAKE. *growl*

Fine. I finally got her approval to buy a new adapter, but she had no idea where the Staples card was, so that was essentially worthless.

I kept trying to fix Marvel's computer, and finally said fuck it and locked her office.

I'm worried about my client... no word from her for three days, I'm seriously concerned. I've texted her three days in a row.

I emerged from my hole to find Shar was still there. We made note of the fact that the phone had been ringing off the hook; knowing there was only one volunteer (and he's a quiet, reserved guy), we called downstairs to get a terse "come down here NOW please" from him.

What followed was two and a half hours of insanity. Multiple crisis calls, multiple DV agencies, transport between two counties, Alicia on call, me backup, Shar taking over, other clients needing this or that or something else...

I ended up offering to go meet the Des Moines program staff halfway to get a client who needed to come to Ames. Then I waited. And waited. And waited. And finally had Shar call and order a pizza for me, since it looked like it was going to be late.

Not ten minutes later, the DSM program called and said they were leaving. Fuckity.

As it turned out, the timing was pretty well perfect... I pulled up to Casey's just as they were taking my pizza out, so it wasn't so bad. I got to the Elkhart exit and found the DSM people, got the client, and hit the road back. She was pretty upset, so I talked to her and told her a little about our shelter, answered her questions, etc. When we got back I helped her make coffee and Alicia took over to do initial intake with her... I was finally able to leave about 9:15.

TIRED. But driving home, I was in a pretty decent mood all told... I'd done good work, as Bruce used to say. I've been thinking about him so much today, and that's making me a little more irritable, probably... not to mention all the FOOD I've eaten today, jesus. And the fact my period is a week late.

Then I come home... to a kitchen mess due to teenager laziness, and I find that Brett has not only taken all the cash from my pocket, he lied to me about it.

Between that and reading Madd's post, I'm fucking-A done with people for the day.

No comments: