Friday, July 27, 2007

State of the G (x-post)

Physical:
Went to the doctor yesterday for the third time in a month. He's convinced I have bronchitis (which, really, means "well I understand you can't breathe, something unspecific is clogging your lungs, but I don't know what it is exactly, so here... have some more drugs"). I'm on a five-day regimen of Zithromax (which I love, since it's FIVE days, and ONE pill per day, as opposed to ten days of fucking horse pills twice a day), and he gave me a prescription for Robitussin with codeine. Which doesn't seem to do much for me at all, dammit. I was all excited to get the "good stuff" yesterday, but it did very little to either alleviate my symptoms or make me high enough ot not care. Bah. What's the point of drugs if they don't make you feel good one way or another?

Emotional:
Really. Fucking. Tired. of being sick. This is my fourth full day home from work; this is, quite frankly, a record. The longest I've ever taken off work (or school, with the exception of when I lost my hearing at age 6) for sick leave, in my entire working life. I kid you not. While I am, essentially, a lazy person, I'm incredibly sick of this forced inactivity (forced by the fact I can't BREATHE).

Brett... I just cannot wrap my head around this kid. Well, no, that's not entirely right. I CAN. I just don't know how to fix it, or rather how to help him fix it. There is just something missing in this child, some form of impulse control. He truly seems to lack the ability to consider how his immediate actions could affect him in the long term, whether positively or negatively. Never mind how it will affect anyone else around him... that's beyond his ken.

I know teenagers are, essentially, self-absorbed. I get that. I WAS one. I've raised two, and now I've got a third. But this goes beyond that "normal" self-absorption straight into "something is wrong."

At any rate...

In GOOD news!

I'm reading Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell. Yes, I am behind in the times. Sue me.

I have a VIDEOPHONE! At long last... I'm like a kid with a new toy. Hell, I AM a kid with a new toy. I want to call EVERYBODY. And I can't wait until Meredith is home so I can chat with her! Yes, I AM pathetic. Deal.

I do believe I'm going to go climb in bed and read... or convince Paul to turn the TV around so I can watch a movie from bed...

No comments: